## IEEE Computer Society Multiple-Valued Logic Technical Community

ISMVL-2022 Plenary Session Minutes

Friday, May 20, 2022, 16:00 – 17:00 (CDT)

Online (Zoom)



Chair: J. Pantović, MVL-TC Chair

Present: ISMVL-2022 Attendees

The meeting began at 16:00 (CDT).

- 1. **Welcome** The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting, and encouraged everyone to join the TCMVL. She outlined the agenda.
- 2. **Awards** The Chair reported the award winners as follows:
  - a. **Outstanding Contributed Award**: Milena Stanković, Claudio Moraga, and Radomir Stanković, "Construction of Ternary Plateaued Functions from Quadratic Forms for Ternary Bent Functions"
  - b. Long Term Contributed Award: Mitchell Thornton
  - c. KC Smith Early Career Award in Microelectronics: Akira Ito
- 3. **TC Activities & Budget** The Chair reported the following things:
  - a. Official name of TCMVL: Technical Community (not Committee) on Multiple-Valued Logic
  - b. Logo of TCMVL: The Chair and secretary have the logo. Please contact them if you need the logo.
  - c. Conference Ranking: They are starting to consider Conference Ranking.
  - d. **Major uses of budget**: The Chair suggested using the budget of TCMVL to Awards and Student Travel Grants for ISMVL 2023 to encourage people to attend the symposium. The attendees agreed with her suggestions.
- 4. **Nominations for Members at Large** The Chair advised that the Executive Subcommittee nominees for three year terms as members-at-large to begin January 1, 2023 are Jan Paseka and Elena Zaitseva. There were no further nominations, so both were acclaimed.

The current MVL-TC Executive Subcommittee is as follows:

Chair: J. Pantović
Past-chair: Y. Yuminaka
Vice-chair Workshops and Tutorials: M. Soeken
Vice-chair Publicity & Journals: M. Lukac
Vice-chair Technical Activities: N. Homma

Secretary & Web Page Editor: S. Nagayama (appointed by TC-Chair)

Members-at-large:

2023-2025: J. Paseka, E. Zaitseva (begin Jan. 1, 2023)

2022-2024: M. Behrisch, T. Araki

2021-2023: Y. Iijima, K. Smith

2020-2022: V. Lagerkvist, P. Niemann (end Dec. 31, 2022)

- 5. **ISMVL-2024** The prospective general chair, J. Paseka, proposed hosting ISMVL-2024 in Brno, Czech Republic. The symposium will be held on May 27 29, 2024 at Masary University. The proposal was approved unanimously.
- 6. **ISMVL-2021 & MVL Journals** The Symposium Chair, M. Lukac, reported on the last year's ISMVL that 35 of 46 submitted papers were accepted (acceptance rate: 76%) and there were 3 invited addresses. There were 61 registrants (33 authors + 28 non-authors). He also reported that 11 papers were submitted to the special issue in the Journal of Applied Logics (JALs) for ISMVL 2021, and 7 papers were accepted. The special issue in the JALs for ISMVL 2022 is also planning. Its submission deadline is Aug. 25, 2022.
- 7. **ULSIWS-2022 & ULSIWS-2023** The workshop chair, M. Natsui, reported that the workshop was held on May 18, 2022. There were six regular talks, and 30 people have registered. The number of attendees was 24. The ULSIWS-2023 will be held just before or after ISMVL-2023 as usual. The General Chair will be taken over by Y. Iijima.
- 8. **RMWS-2023** The workshop will be held after ISMVL-2023. T. Sasao will serve as General Chair and M. Miller will serve as Program Chair. The paper submission deadline will be March 10, 2023.
- 9. **ISMVL-2023** The 53<sup>rd</sup> symposium will be held on May 22 to 24 in Matsue, Shimane, Japan as approved at the 2021 Plenary Session. Y. Yuminaka will serve as Symposium Chair and N. Homma will serve as Program Chair. The location of the symposium would be at Kunibiki Messe (Shimane Prefectural Convention Center). He is planning Student Travel Grants to support students to attend ISMVL-2023. The paper submission deadline is Nov. 1, 2022 as usual.
- 10. **ISMVL-2022** The Symposium Chair, M. Thornton, reported on the current symposium that 29 of 43 submitted papers were accepted (acceptance rate: 67%) and there were 3 invited addresses. He showed Call for Book Proposals for ISMVL topics that will be published in Springer Nature. Please submit proposals to M. Thornton (Book Series Editor) or J. Claypool (Springer Nature Publisher) vie email.
- 11. There being no other business, the meeting concluded at 17:00 (UTC).

Recorded by

Shnobu Nagayama MVL-TC Secretary