IEEE Computer Society Multiple-Valued Logic Technical Community

ISMVL-2025 Plenary Session Minutes Friday, June 6, 2025, 16:30 – 17:00 Montreal, Quebec, Canada



Chair: N. Honnma, MVL-TC Chair

Present: ISMVL-2025 Attendees

The meeting began at 16:30.

- 1. **Welcome** The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting and encouraged everyone to join the TCMVL. He outlined the agenda.
- 2. **Budget** The Chair reported that the budget of TCMVL is mainly used for three Awards, Student Travel Grants, and fee for the proceedings of ISMVL.
- 3. **Awards** The Chair reported the award winners as follows:
 - a. **Outstanding Contributed Award**: Hajime Machida, "Orderly Majority Functions with their Relation to Minimal Clones"
 - b. Long Term Contributed Award: Lucien Haddad
 - c. KC Smith Early Career Award in Microelectronics: Tomasz Mazurkiewicz
- 4. **ISMVL-2024** J. Paseka reported on the last year's ISMVL. The number of submissions was 42, and 30 papers were accepted (acceptance rate: 71.4%). The symposium consisted of three invited talks and 11 regular sessions. 56 people attended the symposium in-person, including 17 students from 11 countries. The accounts for ISMVL2024 were closed in sound condition.
- 5. **ISMVL-2025** The Symposium Chair, W. Gross, reported on the current symposium that 39 of 45 submitted papers from 11 countries were accepted (acceptance rate: 86.7%) and there were 3 invited addresses, 6 regular sessions, and 2 special sessions. There were 69 attendees in-person, including 15 students from 9 countries.
- 6. **ULSIWS-2025** The workshop chair, Y. Iijima, reported that the workshop was held on June 4, 2025. There were 1 invited talk by Prof. Nakahara and 11 poster presentations. 38 people attended the workshop in-person. The best student presentation award was given to Mr. Ali Therrien-Motamedi.
- 7. RMWS-2025 M. Miller reported that the workshop held in the morning on July 4 in a hybrid style (in-person & online). The number of submissions was 5, and all submissions were accepted. There were 1 invited talk and 2 regular sessions. The number of registrants is 24 (22 in person and 2 online attendees). There was no fee for the workshop. A refreshment break was funded by the Darwin Deason Institute for Cyber Security, Southern Methodist University. The workshop was successfully done.

The next RM workshop will be held in Europe in 2027. M. Miller said that the cooperation of young researchers as committee members is needed for sustainable management of the workshop. He also suggested changing name of the workshop to attract attendees to the workshop.

- 8. **ISMVL-2026** N. Homma proposed that the 56th ISMVL would be held on May 19 to 21 in Sendai, Miyagi, Japan as approved at the 2024 Plenary Session. N. Homma will serve as Symposium Chair, and M. Natsui and Y. Iijima will serve as Program Chairs. The collocated ULSIWS2025 will be held on May 18, excursion and banquet will be held on May 20 for now. The proposal was approved.
- 9. **ULSIWS-2026** Y. Iijima, reported that the workshop will be held just before ISMVL-2026 as usual. He is planning the student poster session as well as an invited talk for now. The General Co-Chair will be R. Miyauchi. The proposal was approved.
- 10. **ISMVL-2027** H. Gundersen and S. Bos proposed hosting ISMVL-2027 in Kongsberg, Norway in May 2027. Kongsberg is the site easily accessible from Oslo. The proposal was approved unanimously.
- 11. **ISMVL-2028** N. Homma proposed to consider hosting ISMVL-2028 in USA. The proposal was very well received.
- 12. **Nominations for Members at Large** The Chair advised that the Executive Subcommittee nominees for three year terms as members-at-large to begin January 1, 2026 are Igor Sedlar and Steven Bos. There were no further nominations, so both were acclaimed.

The current MVL-TC Executive Committee is as follows:

Chair: N. Homma
Past-chair: J. Pantović
Vice-chair Journals: M. Lukac
Vice-chair Technical Activities M. Behrisch

Vice-chair Publicity: S. Nagayama (appointed by TC-Chair)

Members-at-large:

2026-2028: I. Sedlar, S. Bos (begin Jan. 1, 2026)

2025-2027: T. Hirayama, K. Podlaski 2024-2026: R. Miyauchi, D. MacFarlane

2023-2025: J. Paseka, E. Zaitseva (end Dec. 31, 2025)

- 13. **MVL Journals** –M. Lukac reported that he is planning to have a special issue dedicated to honor the memory of Kenneth C. Smith in the JALs. The submission deadline will be announced by CFP soon.
- 14. There being no other business, the meeting concluded at 17:00.

Recorded by

Shnobu Nagayama MVL-TC Secretary